Friday, May 24, 2013

ICC Champions Trophy – Some interesting figures

icc champions trophy
In cricket, ICC Champions Trophy is the second important One Day International cricket tournament after the Cricket World Cup. It is a played after every two years. The first tournament of this type was played in 1998 and since than 6 such tournaments have been played.
7th and the last ICC Champions Trophy will be played in June 2013. According to ICC, this tournament will be replaced by ICC World Test Championship. Today’s post is dedicated to the ICC Champions Trophy, and we’ll try to gather some interesting and important facts and figures of all the 6 tournaments.
  •  This tournament was first played in 1998 and it was named as the ICC Knock Out tournament. As the name indicates, it was played on a knockout basis. The second tournament in 2000 was also played on knockout basis but later in 2002 its name was changed to the ICC Champions Trophy and it was played in Round Robin format.
  • Chris Gayle of West Indies is the leading run-scorer of all the events with 695 runs in 14 matches while Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan is the leading wicket-taker with 24 wickets in 15 matches.
Chris Gayle
  • The record for a highest team total is 347-4 by New Zealand against U.S.A in 2004 while in the same tournament U.S.A made a record for lowest team total i.e., 65 All Out against Australia.
  • Australia is the only team to win 2 titles of ICC Champions Trophy i.e., 2006 and 2009.
  • 2002 Champions Trophy was shared between India and Srilanka as the final match was interrupted by the rain and there was no result.
  • West Indies is sharing the record of most wins with Australia i.e., 12 while West Indies also has the record of most losses in ICC Champions Trophy i.e., 9.
  • India is the most unfortunate team of the events as they reached final twice but unable to win the trophy. In 2000, they were beaten by New Zealand while in 2002 rain stopped them to grab the trophy.
7th and the last ICC Champions Trophy is starting from 6th June 2013 in England & Wales and we are hopeful to watch some terrific and thrilling matches. Schedule for cricket lovers is also added in the post.

Schedule of ICC Champions Trophy 2013

6th juneIndia vs South AfricaB
7th JunePakistan vs West IndiesB
8th JuneAustralia vs EnglandA
9th JuneNew Zealand vs Sri LankaA
10th JunePakistan vs South AfricaB
11th JuneIndia vs West IndiesB
12th JuneAustralia vs New ZealandA
13th JuneEngland vs Sri LankaA
14th JuneSouth Africa vs West IndiesB
15th JunePakistan vs IndiaB
16th JuneEngland vs New ZealandA
17th JuneAustralia vs Sri LankaA
19th JuneFirst Semi Final
20th JuneSecond Semi Final
23rd JuneFinal

No comments:

Post a Comment

Let us know your Thoughts and ideas!
Your comment will be deleted if you
Spam , Adv. Or use of bad language!
Try not to! And thank for visiting and for the comment
Keep visiting and spread and share our post !!
Sharing is a kind way of caring!! Thanks again!